That’s not the beginning of the end…

… That’s the return to yourself
The return to innocence
Love – Devotion
Feeling – Emotion
Love – Devotion
Feeling – Emotion
Don’t be afraid to be weak
Don’t be too proud to be strong
Just look into your heart my friend
That will be the return to yourself

Enigma’s Return To Innocence

Celebrities and famous personalities are often asked, “What music or song defines you? What type of music were you exposed to growing up?” etc. I like to believe that I am ‘almost famous’ and shall answer the question.

Ignoring the variety of music that I grew up listening to, Pink Floyd’s ‘Another Brick In The Wall’ and Enigma’s ‘Return To Innocence’ stand-out from the crowd. Ironic that these very two songs would define me and in particular get attached to the two most ridiculously life-changing events I’d ever experience first hand. They say this is growing up…

I still remember the drive to one of All Pakistan Music Conference’s [APMC’s] concert and listening to ‘Another Brick In The Wall’ in the car and crying at how apt the song was considering that smack-in-the-middle-of-the-bridge talk that very afternoon. I wish I could talk of that incident openly but its something that no one would be able to help me out with and talking doesn’t always help. [Maybe some other time.] Needless to say, that APMC concert was spent sitting in a corner with my head placed comfortably on my knees, possibly the only concert where music touched my inner chords and as they say I was ‘comfortably numb’… 

This morning after a breakfast with 2 girls and a man [almost becoming a Friday ritual], I didn’t realize that on my way back to work that one sms would make hell break lose and in a matter of just a few hours lots would change and I would just spend the rest of my weekend listening to Enigma, and some good and solid music and realizing that actually life is all about screwing up with your own emotions or someone else’s, depending on your luck factor.

So. Minus the reasons, what song defines you? Be as vague and ridiculous as possible.

Respect.

On a happy/chirpy note- The Hassan Jehangir classic ‘Hawa Hawa’ reminds me of the dance performance by my mad cousins, sister and Khalas on my Mamoon’s mehendi around midnight some 12 or so years back! :) If the world’s lucky, the video shall be uploaded or screened at some point! ;)

That’s not the beginning of the end…

5 thoughts on “That’s not the beginning of the end…

  1. Insiya, I have too many songs that define an aspect of myself or that I can relate to. So I am picking one from a list of my favourites, without any explanations about the reason and purpose of my choice. Here goes…

    Nothing Ever Happens
    (Justin Currie)

    Post office clerks put up signs saying position closed
    And secretaries turn off typewriters and put on their coats
    Janitors padlock the gates
    For security guards to patrol
    And bachelors phone up their friends for a drink
    While the married ones turn on a chat show

    And they’ll all be lonely tonight and lonely tomorrow

    Gentlemen time please, you know we can’t serve anymore
    Now the traffic lights change to stop, when there’s nothing to go
    And by five o’clock everything’s dead
    And every third car is a cab
    And ignorant people sleep in their beds
    Like the doped white mice in the college lab

    Nothing ever happens, nothing happens at all
    The needle returns to the start of the song
    And we all sing along like before

    And we’ll all be lonely tonight and lonely tomorrow

    Telephone exchanges click while there’s nobody there
    The Martians could land in the carpark and no one would care
    Close-circuit cameras in department stores shoot the same video every day
    And the stars of these films neither die nor get killed
    Just survive constant action replay

    Nothing ever happens, nothing happens at all
    The needle returns to the start of the song
    And we all sing along like before

    And we’ll all be lonely tonight and lonely tomorrow

    Bill hoardings advertise products that nobody needs
    While angry from Manchester writes to complain about
    All the repeats on T.V.
    And computer terminals report some gains
    On the values of copper and tin
    While American businessmen snap up Van Goghs
    For the price of a hospital wing

    Nothing ever happens, nothing happens at all
    The needle returns to the start of the song
    And we all sing along like before
    Nothing ever happens, nothing happens at all
    They’ll burn down the synagogues at six o’clock
    And we’ll all go along like before

    And we’ll all be lonely tonight and lonely tomorrow
    —-

  2. ‘If You See Kay’, an underground song from the 60s, because of its irreverence, double-entendre, challenge to social norms – and sheer madness. One entire verse even had all the non-swear words ‘bleeped’ out (the bleeps creating a danceable rhytm).

  3. I got a few relpies on my email that I am going to post here without giving out names-
    * mere loag [by noori]. mere loag is my anthem. but if i have to take any music with me around: Deep Froest’s Boheme, Enigma’s all albums would be it.
    * dawsons creek soundtrack, “It’s not easy to be me.”
    * Silent Lucidity by Queensryche, One by U2, Achilles Last Stand by Led Zeppelin, Soul Pilot by Moby (Corduroy).

  4. as much as i hate to say it, coz i dont want to come across someone cliched and/or a victim of popular culture trend, or that i may have not heard alot of music, but really …if there is one song which is ME …. its the one and only,

    With or Without You – U2

  5. Insiya, I still cant pick 1 song thats pretty much me – I have gone through a list of my favorite songs and I cant find a solid reason for me to choose one over the other – I find Steve Millers Joker as pertinent to me as Aerosmiths Dream On, Zepplins Ramble On, Floyds Comfortably Numb, AC/DC Its A Long Way To The Top and the list just goes on and on and on.
    Its driven me quite nutty something my coworkers picked on yesterday at lunch when I was lost in thought about a song that defines me. I think Ill just say I am way too complicated to be put into 1 song

Leave a Reply

